Base Game FAQ

English
Eyrie Dynasties
Q: Does turmoil trigger if I have an empty column?
A: Nope! Turmoil triggers if you have a card in your Decree that you can’t complete.
Eyrie Dynasties
Q: Does turmoil trigger if I can take actions for some but not all cards in a column?
A: Yes! The moment you can’t complete a single card, you go into turmoil.
Eyrie Dynasties
Q: Can I move one warrior at a time from the same clearing to fulfill many Move cards in my Decree? Can I move the same warrior back and forth, given the right cards?
A: Yes! You can game the Decree as much as the cards allow you to. Just follow the rules for movement, and you’re good.
Eyrie Dynasties
Q: What does the Despot’s ability do? Don’t I already get a victory point for removing a building or token?
A: Quite right you are! You get an extra point, though you do not get multiple extra points if you remove multiple buildings and/or tokens at the same time.
Eyrie Dynasties
Q: If I have the Charismatic leader and Recruit, but I have one warrior left in my supply. Do I place no warriors or one warrior before going into Turmoil?
A: Place one. If you are prompted to place pieces but cannot place them all, you must place as many as possible.
Eyrie Dynasties
Q: If I have a card in Recruit but no Roosts on the map do I automatically turmoil?
A: No, in Birdsong you will place a new roost and three warriors in a clearing with the fewest warriors where all those pieces can be placed.
Marquise de Cat
Q: What happens if all of my pieces are removed from the map?
A: Unfortunately, you’re probably out of the game. However, if the Riverfolk Company or hirelings are in play, you can build a building again if you rule a clearing. Either way, if this happens, the game will likely end at a moment’s notice!
Marquise de Cat
Q: Can someone move a piece into the clearing with my keep?
A: Yes! “Place” is a different keyword from “move.”
Marquise de Cat
Q: If someone ambushes me in a battle at the Keep, when do my warriors get placed back in the Keep’s clearing?
A: Immediately, as long as you spend a card. This means you can avoid the check for “no remaining warriors” prompted by the ambush.
Marquise de Cat
Q: Can the Marquise place hirelings at the Keep?
Vagabond
Q: Can I refresh a damaged coin, bag, or tea in the Damaged box to put it back on its track?
A: No. A change in the 10th printing, which prevents the Vagabond from freely moving items between the Satchel and the item tracks, suggests this is possible. It is not.
Vagabond
Q: Can I craft cards with multiple-suit requirements?
A: No. Your hammers match your current clearing, so you can only craft with one suit at a time. Good news: the multi-suit cards are useless to you anyway!
Vagabond
Q: Do I trigger the Alliance’s Outrage when I move into a sympathetic clearing?
A: Nope! You’re a friendly Vagabond, and you have a pawn, not a warrior.
Vagabond
Q: If I move Allied warriors of the Woodland Alliance into a sympathetic clearing, do I trigger Outrage?
A: Nope! (*This ruling was changed as of the release of the Marauder Expansion and the 8th Printing, because the Vagabond’s Allied movement now uses the “Force” keyword.)
Vagabond
Q: Does the Vagabond go Hostile with a faction when he removes one of their buildings or tokens, but no warriors?
A: Nope! There are no witnesses to see him. Burn it all down!
Vagabond
Q: If the Vagabond removes a hireling warrior controlled by another faction, does the Vagabond become Hostile with that faction?
A: Nope! The hirelings are not faction pieces of that faction.
Vagabond
Q: If the Vagabond battles using a controlled hireling and removes enemy pieces, does the Vagabond turn Hostile with that faction or gain Infamy points if they’re already Hostile?
A: Nope! Hirelings don’t use the abilities of their controlling faction or let their controlling faction score points for removing enemy pieces.
Vagabond
Q: Can the Vagabond move Allied warriors using the Ferry from the Underworld Expansion? If so, does the Ally faction also draw a card?
Vagabond
Q: Can a Vagabond form a coalition with a player who has activated a dominance card? Can a player activate a dominance card after a Vagabond formed a coalition with them?
A: A Vagabond cannot form a coalition with a dominance player, since they have no victory point marker on the track. However, a player can activate a dominance card after a Vagabond forms a coalition with them!
Vagabond
Q: The Vagabond is in a coalition with me. Can I still battle him? Can he still battle me?
A: No, neither of you can battle each other. (*This ruling changed as of the Marauder Expansion and the 8th Printing. The Battle rules now specify that you must battle an enemy, which means any player not in a coalition.)
Vagabond
Q: Can I say no if the Vagabond wants to Aid me or coalition with me?
Vagabond
Q: Can I gain Infamy victory points by removing a piece with Strike?
A: Nope! Infamy specifies that you must remove the piece in battle on your turn. Killing someone with a crossbow is the coward’s way, after all.
Woodland Alliance
Q: Does placing a piece in a sympathetic clearing trigger Outrage?
A: Nope! You have to move in warriors or remove the sympathy to trigger it.
Woodland Alliance
Q: Can I revolt with a base in a suit whose base I’ve already built?
A: Nope! The revolt action says you must choose a sympathetic clearing matching an unbuilt base.
Woodland Alliance
Q: Can I revolt in the clearing with the keep token?
A: Nope! You would have to place a sympathy token first, which you can’t do because of the Marquise’s special ability The Keep.
Woodland Alliance
Q: What happens if a hireling removes sympathy?
A: The player controlling the hireling would trigger Outrage, since Outrage specifies “When a player removes…”
Woodland Alliance
Q: Does the Vagabond cause Outrage while moving?
A: Nope. The Vagabond is a pawn, not a warrior.
Woodland Alliance
Q: Do hirelings cause Martial Law?
A: Hirelings controlled by an enemy player will add to that player’s faction warriors. So if the Eyrie had 1 Eyrie warrior and 2 hireling warriors they controlled in a clearing, that clearing would prompt Martial Law. However, uncontrolled hireling warriors would not prompt Martial Law.
Base
Q: The Armorers card says “rolled hits”. Does it really mean “rolled hits” specifically and not “hits”?
A: Yes indeed! “Rolled hits” means only the hits rolled.