Witness.
Any number of times, spend a card
(plus one card per Witness action that has already been taken against the same faction this turn) to initiate a battle in a matching clearing but, when you deal hits your hits do not - and cannot - remove enemy warriors
(although your other hits – against tokens, buildings or faction without warriors – are all resolved normally.) Instead, when an enemy warrior would be removed,
SWAP it with a warrior from your own supply
(swap ignores move and place restrictions, such as the Corvids’ snare and the Marquise’s keep.) After battle, place all enemy warriors in your supply into
THE RANKS (or return them to owner – pieces like the Warlord cannot be placed outside of their own Anoint.)
Remember, that in Witness - and only Witness - your hits are just words. Both sides roll for hits. Both sides may use effects. When both deal hits, your hits against enemy warriors essentially causes them to join your side. The newly swapped in Order warriors do not gain extra hits - Maximum Rolled Hits has already been determined – and your swapping out of enemy warriors, likewise, does not cause them to lose hits. They deal their full Maximum Rolled Hits to your warriors, including those swapped in. This merely circumvents rules like Marquises’ Field Hospitals and Lizards’ Revenge.
(
4.3.3.I - Maximum Rolled Hits.)
(
4.3.6 - Step 6: Deal Hits.)
(
6.2.3 - Field Hospitals.)
(
10.2.3 - Revenge.)
(
G.33 - Swap)