Law of Root

English

G. Glossary

G.1 GLOSSARY

G.1.1
Ability.
A persistent effect of a faction as listed at the top of its faction board and in its Faction Rules and Abilities section, or a persistent effect of a hireling as listed on its hireling card. (E.2.1 - When-Hired Action ({{hired}}).)
G.1.2
Adjacent.
A clearing is adjacent to all other clearings linked to it by a path. A forest is adjacent to all clearings that touch it without crossing a path, and it is adjacent to all forests that are separated by only one path, except on the lake. mole (C.2.4 - Costal Forests.)
G.1.3
Building.
A square cardboard piece owned by its faction.
G.1.4
G.1.5
Discard.
Place the prompted card in the shared discard pile. If it is a dominance card, place it near the map instead. lizard (2.1 - Cards) (3.3.3 - Using Dominance Cards.)
G.1.6
Draw.
Take the top card from the shared deck. (2.1 - Cards)
G.1.7
Effect.
Anything that changes the game, including persistent effects, faction abilities, and actions.
G.1.8
Enemy.
An other player that you are not in a coalition with, or a hireling that is in the supply or held by an enemy player. (9.2.8 - Dominance Cards and Coalitions.)
G.1.9
Enemy Piece.
A faction piece of an enemy player or a hireling piece of an enemy hireling, except while you're treating the piece as your own for rule (Riverfolk mercenaries, controlled hirelings, etc.). (Items cannot be enemy pieces.)
G.1.10
Faction Piece.
All the warriors, pawns, buildings, and tokens listed on the back of a faction board. (Items are not factions pieces.) See (1.5.2 - Starting Faction.)
G.1.11
Forest.
An area on the map enclosed by paths and clearings.
G.1.12
G.1.13
Item.
A square cardboard piece showing an item (boot,sword,crossbow, etc.) that is not owned by any faction.
G.1.14
G.1.15
Map Edge.
The single closed loop of clearings and paths that define the map boundary, including closed paths on the mountain map.
G.1.16
Path.
A white link between two clearings.
G.1.17
Pawn.
A wooden figure owned by its faction.
G.1.18
Piece.
Any component–building, token, warrior, pawn, item, marker, and so on.
G.1.19
Place.
Take the prompted piece from the prompted source and put it in the prompted destination. Usually, no source is specified–in this case, take it from its supply, or take the leftmost prompted piece if it is on a track.
G.1.20
Play Area.
The area around your faction board. Cards in it can only be spent, discarded, or used for other purposes if explicitly instructed.
G.1.21
Replace.
Shorthand for REMOVE then PLACE. Remove the prompted piece and place the other prompted piece in location from which the first was removed. You must complete all steps of the REPLACE in order to do it.
G.1.22
Remove.
Take the prompted piece from the prompted source and return it to the prompted destination. Usually, no destination is specified–in this case, return it to its owner's supply, return it to the rightmost empty space of its track if it has one, or remove it permanently otherwise. (Items are removed permanently.)
G.1.23
Reveal.
Place the prompted card face up in your play area. Usually, no source is specified–in this case, take it from your hand.
G.1.24
River.
A blue link between two clearings.
G.1.25
Ruin.
Piece covering an "R" slot in a clearing. (2.2.4 - Ruins.)
G.1.26
Rule.
See (2.5 - Rule)
G.1.27
Show.
Let the prompted player see the prompted piece.
G.1.28
Slot.
White box in a clearing. (2.2.3 - Slots.)
G.1.29
Spend.
See DISCARD. (These terms are equivalent, but SPEND is used in contexts with choice.)
G.1.30
Supply.
The collection of pieces that is not on a faction board or the map. The item supply is the collection of items on the map.
G.1.31
Swap.
Switch the locations of two prompted pieces. (This ignores MOVE and PLACE restrictions, such as the Corvids' snare and the Marquise's keep.)
G.1.32
Token.
A circular cardboard piece owned by its faction.
G.1.33
Treat.
The prompted thing takes on the property of the second prompted thing. While you treat enemy pieces as your own for rule, they are not enemy pieces, but they are still faction pieces of that enemy player. (For example, Riverfolk warriors you've hired as mercenaries are not enemy pieces to you, but they are still Riverfolk faction pieces.)
G.1.34
Warrior.
A wooden figure owned by its faction. (The Vagabond pawn is not a warrior and cannot be removed.)